Research Canada Congratulates New Cabinet Ministers

OTTAWA, November 22, 2019 — On Wednesday afternoon, Prime Minister Justin Trudeau announced the 36 members of his gender-balanced Cabinet for this 43rd Parliament of Canada, welcoming back 29 Ministers from the previous Cabinet and bringing on seven Members of Parliament as new Ministers. Research Canada wishes to congratulate each of these individuals on their newly appointed positions.

Research Canada has, over the years, worked hard to build strong relationships with Canada’s Cabinet Ministers and Parliamentary Secretaries, and in particular, with those of Health; Science; and Innovation, Science and Economic Development. We are pleased to congratulate The Honourable Patty Hajdu on her appointment as Minister of Health, coming from her previous Employment, Workforce Development and Labour portfolio, and we look forward to working closely with her in this new role. We also wish to congratulate and welcome back The Honourable Navdeep Bains to Cabinet under a modified portfolio as the Minister of Innovation, Science and Industry.

Research Canada has also developed strong relationships with The Honourable Kirsty Duncan, former Minister of Science and Sport, and The Honourable Ginette Petitpas-Taylor, former Minister of Health. We wish to sincerely congratulate them both on their appointments as Deputy House Leader and Deputy Government Whip, respectively, and we wish them both success in these new roles,

“We look forward to continuing to work closely with Minister Hajdu, Minister Bains, and the rest of Cabinet over the coming years to build support within government for a robust health research and innovation ecosystem to foster a healthier Canada,” said Ms. Deborah Gordon-El-Bihbety, President and CEO of Research Canada.

Cabinet Ministers

  • Anita Anand – Minister of Public Services and Procurement
  • Navdeep Bains – Minister of Innovation, Science and Industry
  • Carolyn Bennett – Minister of Crown-Indigenous Relations
  • Marie-Claude Bibeau – Minister of Agriculture and Agri-food
  • Bill Blair – Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness
  • Bardish Chagger – Minister of Diversity, Inclusion and Youth
  • Francois-Phillippe Champagne – Minister of Foreign Affairs
  • Jean-Yves Duclos – President of the Treasury Board
  • Mona Fortier – Minister of Middle Class Prosperity and Associate Minister of Finance
  • Chrystia Freeland – Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs
  • Marc Garneau – Minister of Transport
  • Karina Gould – Minister of International Development
  • Steven Guilbeault – Minister of Canadian Heritage
  • Patty Hajdu – Minister of Health
  • Ahmed Hussein – Minister of Families, Children and Social Development
  • Melanie Joly – Minister of Economic Development and Official Languages
  • Bernadette Jordan – Minister of Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard
  • David Lametti – Minister of Justice and Attorney General
  • Dominic LeBlanc – President of the Queen’s Privy Council for Canada
  • Diane Lebouthillier – Minister of National Revenue
  • Lawrence MacAulay – Minister of Veterans Affairs and Associate Minister of Defence
  • Catherine McKenna – Minister of Infrastructure and Communities
  • Marco E. L. Mendicino – Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship
  • Marc Miller – Minister of Indigenous Services
  • Maryam Monsef – Minister of Women and Gender Equality and Rural Economic Development
  • Bill Morneau – Minister of Finance
  • Joyce Murray – Minister of Digital Government
  • Mary Ng – Minister of Small Business, Export Promotion and International Trade
  • Seamus O’Regan – Minister of Natural Resources
  • Carla Qualtrough – Minister of Employment, Workforce Development and Disability Inclusion
  • Pablo Rodriguez – Leader of the Government in the House of Commons
  • Harjit Sajjan – Minister of National Defence
  • Deb Schulte – Minister of Seniors
  • Filomena Tassi – Minister of Labour
  • Dan Vandal – Minister of Northern Affairs
  • Jonathan Wilkinson – Minister of Environment and Climate Change

Non-ministerial appointments include:

  • Jim Carr – Special Representative for the Prairies
  • Kirsty Duncan – Deputy House Leader
  • Mark Holland – Chief Government Whip
  • Ginette Petitpas Taylor – Deputy Government Whip

About Research Canada
Research Canada is a national alliance dedicated to increasing investments in health research through collaborative advocacy and engaging government, academia, industry and non-profit sectors to build support for long-term health research funding. For more information, visit

— 30 —

For inquiries:

Christie Tomkins
Manager of Policy and Public Affairs