Reception & Kiosk Session on Brain Research in Canada

May 14, 2012 • Parliament Hill, Ottawa

 Program Highlights

On Monday, May 14th, 2012, Research Canada and the non-partisan Parliamentary Health Research Caucus (HRC) will host an event for parliamentarians on Brain Research in Canada. HRC events are convened under the Chairmanship of Senator Kelvin K. Ogilvie and the Vice-Chairmanship of Ms. Megan Leslie, Member of Parliament (Halifax) and Dr. Kirsty Duncan, Member of Parliament (Etobicoke North).

The format for the event will be kiosk-style with kiosks based on three broad themes in the field with more than twelve eminent health researchers making presentations at each kiosk. The three broad themes are:

  • The Aging Brain and Dementia;
  • Traumatic Brain Injury; and
  • Child Brain Development.

A range of research areas will be featured among the presentations, including:

  • Neurodegeneration and aging;
  • Traumatic brain injury;
  • Epigenetic determinants of behaviour; and
  • Senses and communication.

Guest Speakers & Kiosk Presenters


Dr. Andres M. Lozano
Senior Scientist, Division of Brain Imaging & Behaviour Systems–Neuroscience, Toronto Western Research Institute, University Health Network

Dr. Samuel Weiss
Professor of Cell Biology & Anatomy and Pharmacology & Therapeutics, University of Calgary

Kiosk Presenters

The Aging Brain and Dementia

Dr. Sandra Black
Brill Chair in Neurology, Department of Medicine at Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre, University of Toronto

Dr. Howard Chertkow
Director, Bloomfield Centre for Research in Aging, Lady Davis Institute for Medical Research, McGill University

Dr. Jon Stoessl
Head, Division of Neurology; Director, Pacific Parkinson’s Research Centre; Professor, University of British Columbia & Vancouver Coastal Health

Traumatic Brain Injury

Dr. Grant Iverson
Professor, Department of Psychiatry, University of British Columbia

Dr. T. Blaine Hoshizaki
Associate Professor and Vice Dean Health Sciences, University of Ottawa

Dr. Maryse Lassonde
Clinician Scientist, Université de Montréal and CHU Ste-Justine

Dr. Brian Levine
Senior Scientist, Rotman Research Institute, Baycrest Centre

Dr. Randy McIntosh
Vice-President of Research, Baycrest Centre

Dr. Charles H. Tator
Senior Scientist, Toronto Western Research Institute, and Professor of Neurosurgery, University of Toronto

Dr. Michael Vassilyadi,
Associate Professor of Surgery and Pediatrics, University of Ottawa and Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario

Child Brain Development

Dr. Evdokia Anagnostou
Clinician Scientist, Bloorview Research Institute

Dr. Bryan Kolb
Professor, Department of Neuroscience, University of Lethbridge

Dr. Michael Meaney
Professor of Medicine, Douglas Mental Health University Institute of McGill University

Dr. Jacques Michaud
Clinician scientist, Department of Medical Genetics, CHU Sainte-Justine

Dr. Sylvain Moreno
Lead Scientist, Centre for Brain Fitness, Baycrest Research Centre

Dr. Aaron Newman
Associate Professor – Psychology, Psychiatry, Surgery, & Pediatrics (Div. of Neurology), Dalhousie University

Dr. Russell Schachar
Senior Scientist, The Hospital for Sick Children and University of Toronto