

# Research Canada On the Move

#### January 2016

#### **Welcoming Members of Parliament**

Liberal Members of Parliament - all 184 - are in Ottawa this week for the 42nd session of the Parliament of Canada. They are joined by 99 Conservative and 44 NDP Members of Parliament. Out of these 338 MPs, 214 are new to Parliament. The key government players for the health research and health innovation sectors will be **the Honourable Jane Philpott, Minister of Health, the Honourable Kirsty Duncan, Minister of Science, the Honourable Navdeep Singh Bains, Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development.** 

The Liberals have signaled their intention to play a stronger leadership role in health and are already demonstrating, at the recent health ministers meeting in Vancouver (January 21st), a willingness to collaborate with the provinces on this front. They are engaging stakeholders and experts in consultations and have stated their preference for evidence-based decision-making.

What this means for Research Canada and our sector at large is an opportunity to have meaningful input into health research and health innovation policy decisions. That said, the new government faces the same fiscal pressures, and competition for resources will be fierce. The right framing of issues will be imperative.

Our challenge will be to position health research and health innovation on a competitive policy landscape aligning our messaging with the values of the new government and making the economic and social case for health research. We need to weigh in now on who the National Science Advisor should be and what role s/he should play and we need to engage newly elected champions for health research.

# **Calling All Champions for Health Research!**

We are developing a list of key Members of Parliament who may be health and/or health system professionals or who may have a special interest in the field. We encourage our Members to contact and/or meet these Members of Parliament --especially if you are in any of these ridings. <u>read more »</u>

Opposition Parties play a critical role in advocating for health research and health innovation. It is equally important to meet and solicit support from Members of Parliament from the Conservative and NDP parties. We will undertake a review of the backgrounds of the opposition MPs in the future. Here are a few with whom you can begin your outreach efforts:

Maxime Bernier (Cons) Critic – Innovation, Science and Economic Development (Diane Finley)

Dr. Kellie Leitch (Cons) Critic – Health (Colin Carrie)

Marilyn Gladu (Cons) Critic – Science

Brian Masse (NDP) Critic - Innovation, Science and Economic Development

Kennedy Steward (NDP) Critic – Science Don Davies Critic - Health

# **Research Canada's Welcome Reception**

The Honourable Jane Philpott, Minister of Health, will host Research Canada's Welcome Reception on March 7th, 2016 from 4 pm to 7 pm on Parliament Hill. Minister Philpott will be our Keynote Speaker and announce the new Health Research Caucus for the 42nd Parliament. This kiosk-style event will provide new and returning MPs with the opportunity to meet Research Canada's Members, Supporters and Partners and learn more about the health research enterprise and health innovation system in Canada.

#### Letter to Minister Bill Morneau

As part of the pre-budget consultations leading up to the 2016 Federal Budget, Research Canada sent a letter to the Honourable Bill Morneau, Minister of Finance, recommending a \$150 million immediate increase to CIHR's base budget and a onetime investment over two years of \$50 million dollars in support of early- and mid-career scientists. <u>read more »</u>

# **Upcoming Health Research Caucus Events**

Research Canada will hold four Health Research Caucus events this year. The first will be held in May/June (date TBD) and will be our first kiosk-style event on Pediatric Research and Child Health in Canada. We will also hold a kiosk-style event in October (date TBD) on Frailty Among the Aged in Canada. We look forward to receiving suggestions from our Members regarding research and innovation themes and researchers and innovators for these events.